RU UA

Журнал VOGUE

Подписаться
Продолжая просмотр сайта, вы соглашаетесь с тем, что ознакомились с обновленной политикой конфиденциальности и соглашаетесь на использование файлов cookie.
Соглашаюсь
Suzy Menkes Международный редактор VOGUE
РУС ENG

Feet First

26 августа 2014

/> Caption Artwork depicting balance on display at the Equilibrium exhibition at the Salvatore Ferragamo Museum

 

Two gilded bronze feet – one from ancient Rome, the other by Henri Matisse – vie for attention with monkey pads, a ballerina’s arched instep and the tiny toes of a toddler taking his first steps.

I took a crash course about the human foot and its function at Equilibrium, a fascinating exhibition at the Salvatore Ferragamo Museum in Florence.

 

 

/>
Right foot in gilt bronze belonging to a Nike  (2nd Century BC), from the Forum of Augustus / Henri Matisse, Etude de pied (c 1909)

  

Given that I was hobbling with a bandaged and bloated instep after taking a tumble off my wedges in Capri at the Dolce & Gabbana couture show, I was particularly sensitive to the foot and its function.

But you don’t have to fall down a cliff to appreciate this erudite but edgy exhibition. I laughed at the sight of our predecessors, the primates, as hairy models plodding along in footprints found in Africa 3.6 million years ago.

 

 

/>
The children’s Derby shoe, called Primi passi, which means ‘first steps’ in Italian, was created in light brown calfskin with a patented non-slip sole by Salvatore Ferragamo in 1946 for his eldest son Ferruccio Ferragamo

 

 

I had a prick in my eyes when I saw the tiny calfskin shoes with non-slip soles which shoemaker Salvatore Ferragamo created in 1946 for his son Ferruccio, now president of the family business.

 

I also felt a lift of delight at figures swinging acrobatically in an empty space, like Alexander Calder’s mobiles and his circus inspirations. But I shivered at the sight and sound of the famous on film: the purposeful stride of John F Kennedy, the religious march of Mahatma Gandhi, and Adolf Hitler’s military goose-stepping.

 

 

/>
James Dean at a dance class with Katherine Dunham, New York, 1955
 

 

Most of all, Stefania Ricci, the museum’s director and archivist, and art critic Sergio Risaliti,Equilibrium’s co-curators, should be applauded for the impressive art objects and references that they have brought together from museums around the world. They extend from an illustration of the journey from Dante’s The Divine Comedy, loaned from Florence’s Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale, to Edgar Degas sculptures from the Mus?e d’Orsay in Paris.

 

 

/>
Edgar Degas, bronze statue

 

Especially poignant is the section on dance, where the delicacy of bare-footed Degas dancers or a fifteenth-century Raphael-style pen-and-ink drawing show us feet in a state of grace.

But the soul and the sole of shoes is, of course, Salavatore himself.

 

/> Salvatore Ferragamo and his wife Wanda around the time of their wedding in the late Thirties

 

“He spent his life studying and learning about the human anatomy to improve his understanding of feet,” explained Stefania Ricci, as she showed me the different lasts the designer had worked on to further his scientific study of the arch of the foot.

 

 

/>
Development of a last in 11 heel heights, 2014

 

 

/>
Рatent applications: left,Toe shoe with sole featuring a tapered edge glued to the sides of the upper and reinforcing the toe / Arch reinforcement system for shoe soles. As a result of his research, Ferragamo invented the revolutionary steel shank, which supported the plantar arch, enabling the foot to move like an inverted pendulum. The shank, which he patented in 1929, was one of his most important inventions and is still used in the brand’s shoes 

 

 

With the intuitive understanding of an Italian who is surrounded by Renaissance architecture (where the premium arch takes the building’s weight), Ferragamo brought the same principle to shoes.

Marilyn Monroe, among other Hollywood stars, may have felt the benefit of Salvatore’s studies. But the volatile balance, especially in heels of different heights, was developed from scientific understanding into an art form.

 

/>  Red patent-leather pump based on the shoe created by Salvatore Ferragamo in the Fifties for Marilyn Monroe / The last created by Salvatore Ferragamo for Marilyn Monroe’s foot. The marks are evidence of the many different shoes designed for the Hollywood star

 

The “shoemaker to the stars” understood that the entire weight of the body falls in a plumb line on the arch of the foot.

Looking at the fragility of Alberto Giacometti’s bronze figure of the Capsizing Man, I shared the artist’s impression of “the frailty of living beings, as if at any moment it took a formidable amount of energy for them to remain standing.”

 

/>
Philippe Petit walking the wire between the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center, New York, 1974 
La Funambule (1943), by Alberto Giacometti

 

/> A display of Ferragamo lasts and foot moulds

 

In my previous post, I wrote about some of the absurdities of high-heeled fashion and asked why women were prepared to suffer to be “beautiful”.

The curators of the exhibition made me understand how difficult it is to create in footwear the “equilibrium” bestowed by nature – the muscles that move the skeleton and the neurons that control the anatomy.

 

/>

A modern dance performance by Martha Graham, 1943

 

But the scientific side of the exhibition is as light as a pair of fine leather court shoes. Those wanting to take the lesson further, can study the Equilibrium catalogue and its beautifully presented historical overview.

 

 

/>
Antonio Canova’s  dancers and their rhythms of grace (1799)

 

 

The fully illustrated book embraces the Neo-classical balance of Antonio Canova’s dancers and their “rhythms of grace”, the harsher visions of the distorted toes of American avant-garde dancer Merce Cunningham, and the implacably rigid carved amethyst Shoes for Departure (1991), by conceptual artist Marina Abramovic.

   />

 

Merce Cunningham in Antic Meet, photographed by Robert Rauschenberg in 1958

 

 

 

/>
Shoes for Departure (1991), in amethys tby Marina Abramovic

 

I hope this exhibition travels, because it is so much more meaningful than a mere display of footwear – just as Salvatore himself brought art, science and overall intelligence to his apparently humble craft.

 

/>
Equilibrium is at the Salvatore Ferragamo museum, Florence


Фото: Courtesy of Archivio del Museo dei Fori Imperiali/Stefano Castellani; Succession H. Matisse c/o Pictoright Amsterdam 2010; Arrigo Coppitz; Dennis Stock/Magnum Photos; RMN-Grand Palais (Mus?e d’Orsay) / Herv? Lewandowski; Rome, Central Government Archives; Bill Stahl Jr./NY Daily News Archive via Getty Images; New York Yoshii Gallery; Gjon Mili//Time Life Pictures/Getty Images; Richard Rutledge/Art © Estate of Robert Rauschenberg/Licensed by VAGA, Collection Enrico Navarra; Possagno, Museo e Gipsoteca Antonio Canova; Ferragamo.com/museo

Salvatore Ferragamo · Сьюзи Менкес ·

search Created with Sketch.
Suzy Menkes Международный редактор VOGUE
РУС ENG

Первым делом – ноги

26 августа 2014

/>

Инсталляция, посвященная балансу на выставке Equilibriumв музее Salvatore Ferragamo

 

Две позолоченные бронзовые ступни – одна древнеримская, другая работы Анри Матисса – соперничают за внимание с обезьяньими лапками, изогнутым подъемом балерины и крошечными пальчиками младенца, делающего первые шаги.

Я прошла ускоренный курс о строении стопы и ее функциях на Equilibrium, завораживающей выставке  в музее Salvatore Ferragamo во Флоренции.

 

/>

Правая ступня богини Ники из позолоченной бронзы (2 век до нашей эры), с форума Августа / Анри Матисс, Etudedepied (c 1909)


Учитывая тот факт, что я ковыляла с перевязанным и опухшим подъемом после падения на своих платформах на шоу Dolce&GabbanaнаКапри, вопросы ног и их функционирования были для меня особенно актуальны.

Но чтобы оценить эту информационно насыщенную и познавательную выставку, необязательно свалиться со скалы. Волосатые модели наших предков-приматов, за которыми тянулись отпечатки следов (найденные в Африке 3.6 миллиона лет назад) заставили меня смеяться.

 

/>

Детские туфли-дерби под названием Primipassi, что в переводе с итальянского означает «первые шаги» , которые в 1946-м году Сальваторе Феррагамо сделал из светло-коричневой телячьей кожи с лакированной нескользкой подошвой для своего старшего сына Ферруччио Феррагамо


У меня навернулись слезы на глаза, когда я увидела крохотные туфли из телячьей кожи со специальными нескользящими подошвами, которые Сальваторе Феррагамо в 1946-м году сделал для своего сына Ферруччио, который сегодня возглавляет семейный бизнес.

Меня впечатлили формы, раскачивающиеся в пространстве, словно акробаты - как мобили (кинетические скульптуры) Александра Кальдера и фото цирка, которые были главным источником вдохновения Феррагамо. Потрясением для меня стали кинокадры с известными личностями: целеустремленная походка Джона Кеннеди, религиозный марш Махатмы Ганди, военный гусиный шаг Адольфа Гитлера.

 

/>

Джеймс Дин на уроке танцев Кэтрин Данхэм, Нью-Йорк, 1955

 

Кураторы Equilibrium – директор и архивариус музея Стефания Риччи и арт-критик Серджио Ризалити – заслуживают аплодисментов. Им удалось собрать воедино впечатляющие арт-объекты и референсы со всего мира: от иллюстрации путешествия из «Божественной комедии» Данте, одолженной во Флорентийской Национальной Центральной Библиотеке, до скульптур Эдгара Дега из парижского музея Д’Орсэ.

 

/> Бронзовая скульптура (Эдгар Дега)

 

Особенно живой и удачной оказалась секция, посвященная танцам: нежность босых танцовщиц Дега и рисунки чернилами 15 века в стиле Рафаэля продемонстрировали всю грациозность и изящество человеческой ноги.

Но душой и основой обуви (или ее подошвой, если хотите), конечно, является сам Сальваторе.


/>

Сальваторе Феррагамо и его жена Ванда в конце 1930-х – примерно в это время они поженились


«Он всю жизнь изучал анатомию, чтобы досконально разобраться в строении ноги», – объяснила Стефания Риччи, показывая мне различные колодки, над которыми дизайнер работал во время своих исследований подъема.

 

/> Разработка колодки для 11-ти вариантов высот каблука, 2014

 

/>

Заявки на патенты: слева – туфли с подошвой с заостряющимся концом, приклеенным к сторонам верхушки и поддерживающей палец; справа – система поддержки подъема для подошв. В результате исследований Феррагамо создал революционный стальной стержень, который поддерживал подошвенную арку, позволяя ступне двигаться как перевернутому маятнику. Стержень, который он запатентовал в 1929-м, был одним из его самых значительных изобретений и до сих пор используется в обуви марки

 

Подлинный итальянец, которого с детства окружала архитектура эпохи Возрождения (где страховочная арка держит вес всего здания), Феррагамо интуитивно использовал тот же принцип в создании обуви.

Среди всех голливудских звезд больше всего пользу исследований Сальваторе ощутила на себе  Мэрилин Монро. Идеальный баланс его обуви – независимо от высоты каблука, из научного открытия превратился в некий вид искусства.

 

/>

Красные лаковые лодочки – реплика туфель Сальваторе Феррагамо, созданных им для Мэрилин Монро в 1950-е / Колодка, созданная Сальваторе Феррагамо для Мэрилин Монро. Отметки на ней – вещественное доказательство количества туфель, созданных для Голливудской звезды


«Звездный сапожник» понимал, что вес всего тела приходится на точку подъема.

Глядя на хрупкость бронзовой скульптуры «Балансирующий мужчина»  Альберто Джакометти, я согласилась с мнением художника о «хрупкости живых существ, которым как будто стоит невероятных усилий оставаться на ногах».

 

/> Филиппе Пети идет по канату между башнями-близнецами, Нью-Йорк, 1974 / La Funambule (1943), Альберто Джакометти

 

/>

Дисплей с колодками и литейными формами Феррагамо

 

В предыдущем посте я писала о некой абсурдности моды на высокие каблуки и задавалась вопросом, почему женщины были готовы страдать «для красоты» .

Кураторы выставки дали мне понять, как сложно воссоздать в обуви то равновесие, которое даровано нам природой благодаря мышцам и нейронам, контролирующих наше тело и управляющим им.

 

/>

Перформанс современного танца Марты Грэхэм, 1943

  

Но научная составляющая выставки так же легка, как пара придворных туфель из тонкой кожи. Тем, кому хочется продолжить урок, могут изучить каталог выставки и прекрасно представленный исторический обзор.

 

/>

Танцоры Антонио Канова и их ритмы грации (1799)

 

Иллюстрированный каталог охватывает неоклассический баланс танцоров Антонио Канова и их «ритмов грации», более жесткое виденье американского авангардного танцора Мерца Каннингема и  жестко вырезанный аметист «Обувь для ухода» (1991) художницы Марины Абрамович.

 

/> Мерц Каннигнем, фото Robert Rauschenberg, 1958

 

/>

Обувь для ухода (1991), Марина Абрамович

 

Я надеюсь, эта выставка будет экспонироваться и в других местах, потому что ее значение гораздо больше, чем просто демонстрация обуви – также как сам Сальваторе привносил искусство, науку и эрудицию в свое скромное ремесло.

 

/>

«Равновесие» в музее Salvatore Ferragamo, Флоренция

Salvatore Ferragamo · Сьюзи Менкес ·